Day One

I’m going to run a marathon. No really, I am. Don’t believe me? You have every right to be skeptical, after all, I’ve never run any significant distance in my life! My workouts of choice (if any) are usually some form of dance, and any time I ever hear the word “running” directed at me it’s usually followed by a groan and “I hate running!” I am certainly not an athlete, I have never really wanted to be an athlete, and I don’t look like an athlete. So why would I suddenly decide to run a marathon? Am I crazy?

 

This is me, just a normal jeans and t-shirt kind of girl.


My desire to run a marathon started after reading this blog post (it’s a fabulous blog by the way, I suggest every woman follow it closely). After reading I thought about how a journey to such a goal could be so empowering. I thought about how my life lately had been sort of stagnant, with very few major goals that were very important to me. I also knew I needed to increase my activity level to be healthy. I wanted to challenge myself and accomplish something amazing and feel that high you get when you know you’re doing something you never thought you could do. So, why not run a marathon?

Now before I go on I just want to clarify – this challenge is not a diet or weight loss program. I believe that health has very little to do with a number on a scale or the tag of your jeans/dress. This challenge is to discover how amazing my body is and how much I am capable of accomplishing. This challenge is to empower me to have more confidence, joy, and health in my life.

Goals:

On June 8th 2013, complete the Utah Valley Marathon

  • Steps toward my goal:
    • Train at least 3x a week
    • Complete a 5k race
    • Complete a 10k race
    • Complete a half marathon

My pledge to my readers

  • I pledge to give frequent updates on my progress toward my goal.
  • I pledge to be completely honest about my experience, including all physical, emotional, and spiritual challenges I face.
  • I pledge never to make this about getting skinny, losing weight, or shedding inches but to focus on overall physical, spiritual, and emotional health.
  • I pledge to do my best to make this blog fun and easy to read!
  • I pledge to do my best to empower my readers to discover their own power and capabilities. You are amazing!

Thanks for reading! Now share this blog on facebook, twitter, pinterest, whatever! Because let’s be honest, I’d like to make a buck or two off this blog to pay for my races!

Days to Marathon: 333

One thought on “Day One

  1. I agree that health and fitness isn’t about numbers on a scale or pant sizes. It should be based on how good you feel. Setting a goal to improve your energy, stamina, strength, and endurance (which it will take a LOT of for a marathon) is much better than a pant-size goal. Good luck and invest in some quality shoes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

