New Goals

Well, I haven’t given a recent update. And to be honest, I haven’t been running much lately either. There are a couple reasons for this, or you could call them excuses. First, I’ve been a lot busier than usual because my Mom came for a visit, (So fun! Love you Mom!) and I’ve had extra school work to do. Second, I’ve been discouraged because our financial situation is getting restricting and I didn’t know if I could justify spending the money to buy all the running materials and pay for the races! Well, the first reason has passed, but the second reason is persisting. However, I have decided to continue with my running.

I don’t need an organized race to prove to myself that I can run a certain distance! And I don’t need fancy clothes and shoes to get out there and improve every time! It doesn’t have to cost money to run! I mean, for goodness sakes, all you really need is your body, and that’s sort of stuck to you no matter what. You could even run barefoot if you wanted to but I would recommend watching out for sharp rocks, broken glass, and bumpy sidewalks (a stubbed toe could really kill your momentum)! You could also run naked, but if you choose to do that I kindly suggest that you go somewhere no one will ever see you, such as on a treadmill inside your house with all the windows covered.

So, I’m going to lace up my not-fancy sneakers again and get back out there! My old goal was to run a 5k race this month in 30 minutes or less. My new goal is just slightly changed: By the end of August I will run 5 kilometers (3.1 miles) in 30 minutes or less. By myself. On the sidewalk. Crosswalks and all.

I still have a lot of improving to do before I meet this goal. I am currently doing 2 miles in about 33 minutes but I’m not running as often as I should and I’m not pushing myself very hard. I hope I can do it… I know I can do it!

Days to Marathon: 309

How is your running going? Have you set any new goals for yourself lately?

One thought on “New Goals

  1. Glad you rededicated yourself to your goal. It was fun to spend time with you on my visit. Sorry if is set you back any. I would’ve gone running with you if you asked, or watched Paisley for you so you could go. Keep up the hard work Melodie, you can do it!

Leave a Reply

